Wholemeal focaccia with olives and sun-dried tomatoes

I love homemade bread, rolls and so on, but I have never tried a focaccia. Well, I bought one by mistakes ages ago because I mistook it for a puff pastry (don’t judge me) but I used it as a pizza base (because pizza>focaccia).

Anyway, I had some leftover olives and sun-dried tomatoes, I used some for bread rolls, and struggled to incorporate it into my everyday meals (deja vu?). But I really loved the rolls I made and assumed olives and dried tomatoes go really well with any doughs.

I decided to go with a thin focaccia because I will be using it for making paninis, but if I was to eat it the “proper way”, I would increase the amounts of ingredients by 1½. Or the other option to achieve a higher focaccia is to use a smaller baking pan than I did. Mine is about 33×23 cm, which is 13×9 inches. You could also use a round baking sheet and spread the dough up to *quick calculation* 12 cm diameter, about 4.7 inches, to achieve the same result as I did. Or you can make it smaller to have a higher focaccia.

Lastly, I have not tried it, but some recipes actually tell you not to knead the dough, but rather bring it together with a wooden spoon and set aside to rise. I have tried no-knead doughs in the past and they came out well, but I used a mixer anyway, so I didn’t even get my hands dirty. Win-win. Oh, and my dough rested in a fridge for 2½ days, but up to 3 days is absolutely fine. A day is quite good enough. I just happened to be out for a few days, so my dough had plenty of time to rest and chill 🙂

ba.jpg


More tips for first-time-focaccia-makers (which I will apply next time to make an even better focaccia). Let me know what’s your advice in the comments below!:

Wholemeal focaccia with olives and dried tomatoes

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 20-30 min (active) 1 day (waiting)
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3¼ cups wholemeal flour + extra for dusting
  • 2 cups water (½ cup lukewarm, 1½ cold)
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp sugar or honey
  • ¼ tsp dried active yeast
  • 60 g olives
  • 80 g dried tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Dissolve yeast and sugar in ½ cup of lukewarm water and set aside for 10 minutes.
  2. Chop up olives and dried tomatoes as finely as desired.
  3. Combine flour, yeast mixture, salt, olives and tomatoes in a bowl and mix with either a spoon, hands or using an electric mixer. Gradually add the rest of water (cold).
  4. Knead for about 10 minutes or until an elastic ball forms. Cover with a plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight or up to 3 days.
  5. Remove from the fridge and let sit at room temperature for about an hour. Lightly brush a baking pan with olive oil. Stretch the dough in a baking pan, make indentations with your finger, brush the top with some more olive oil.
  6. Bake at 190°C/375°F/Gas mark 5 for 20-25 or until the bottom is brown and crispy. Cool on a wire rackfeatured.jpg

Leave a Reply

